I am NOT an Obsessive Fangirl.

I began reading Maurice Carlos Ruffin’s work as a first year writing student in college. We Cast a Shadow, Ruffin’s 2019 satirical novel that details the story of a black lawyer in the American South who struggles to protect his son, was an abrupt awakening to a perspective that I, a young white student from a small town, had never considered. And it was needed, I felt called out in a way that pushed me to keep reading. As a new fan and reader, I then began to keep up with Ruffin’s social media.

Maurice Carlos Ruffin’s Instagram Post September 18, 2021.

It is Ruffin’s ability to play with my emotions and to empathize with his characters that draws me most to his work. Through his visits to my university, I’ve had the opportunity to hear about his life and career. He’s always been a welcoming visitor who is willing to challenge and entertain the curiosity of my peers with wisdom and patience, and the gratitude that I feel for his work extends past the pages, and toward him as an author. Is it terrible to say that I want to be his friend?

I’ve kept up with Maurice’s life on Instagram between his visits to my university; he posts about his daily runs, his dogs, his wife, writing advice, and updates on upcoming works. I usually don’t follow authors on social media, but I’ve kept up with Maurice. There’s a certain gratitude towards his readers that he extends within his posts that makes me feel valid as his supporter, and Ruffin creates a warm camaraderie with other writers as he uplifts their writing and achievements on his page. As a young writer who is very subject to imposter syndrome, his kind words and patient writing advice makes me feel valid and seen, and encourages me to push past my anxiety and keep writing. I see him as a sort of silent mentor–I want to make him proud with my writing, consistency, and drive.

Sometimes, though, I do find myself wondering if this much connection is a bad thing, if there’s a limit to how much I should know about Ruffin’s life. I’ve never had a one on one conversation with him, but I could tell you a thing or two about what’s been going on with him recently.

On September 18, 2021 I came across a post detailing that after Ruffin helped his mother evacuate her home under the threat of Hurricane Ida, the pair came back to the apartment to find it robbed bare. Ruffin posted a link to a gofundme and curated a post of kind words to those that donated. I can’t imagine, even now, how broken and startling that must’ve made them feel—but, due to the power of social media and the blessed connection the Internet has brought us, I’m afforded to know this aspect of his life. Parallel to the way his characters make me feel deep emotion, I empathize for him and his mother. The vulnerability in this post makes me feel closer to my favorite author, and I can send him thoughts, prayers, good vibes, and money (if I felt like I needed to).

Is it too far to know your author through social media? It doesn’t matter. We already do. But, where do we go from here?

Is it too far to know your author through social media? It doesn’t matter. We already do.

For me, it is inspiring to stay up to date with a writer who can feel and write with such a full range of emotion. I am inspired by the feelings Ruffin cultivates on the page as well as the gratitude and love for his family and readers that comes through on social media. Connecting to the person behind the page on Instagram allows me to give back to someone who has inspired me as a writer and reader, even if it’s just in good thoughts. The uncomfortable truth is that yes, there is a new lack of separation between an author, work, and audience; however, if we’re careful and respectful, is this such a bad thing?

Leave a comment