The Feeling Left Behind

This post may contain spoilers about the Hunger Games  

Reading has been a big part of my life since my freshman year of high school.  Before this time of my life, I absolutely hated reading for a reason that I can not remember now.  Whatever it was, I felt strongly enough about it that I was shocked when I was finally able to enjoy a book.  This book that I discovered and was finally able to enjoy was The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins.  I was able to read this book in less than a week and I instantly fell in love with the story and its amazing characters.  I then went on to read the rest of the trilogy and it only got better.

By the time I finished the trilogy, I instantly felt an overwhelming wave of emotions.  First, I was basically heart broken over the fact that it had ended.  The thought of never getting to read about Katniss and Peeta ever again, killed me.  All I could focus on was that I would never be able to immerse myself into the world of Panem the same way ever again.  The characters and events within the story,  had such an overwhelming effect on me that I couldn’t image what it could be like now that I knew everything that there was to know about them and their amazing story.

The emotions that I felt after reading this novel didn’t end with just sadness.  I was also quite happy at the end of the book.  This was due to the fact that the novel ended on a mostly happy note with Katniss and Peeta living ‘happily ever after’ with their children in the epilogue.  I found myself filled with joy once the story ended and I was also content with how Suzanne Collins chose to end the trilogy.  After putting the book down and moving on from it, I can only look back on it with happiness and satisfaction.  Once I put this book down, I was able to notice the changes in myself and the change of how I then learned to love reading immensly even though I used to hate reading.

Just like with The Hunger Games, after I read virtually any book that I at least somewhat enjoyed, I usually find myself filled with an almost nostalgic feeling that longs for the time where I was just starting the book.  I always feel this way because I never want books to end.  Before I reach the end and I notice that I am approaching the last few chapters, I get worried that I might finish the story too quickly and not get to enjoy it to the fullest.  Due to this feeling, I sometimes find myself putting off the ending of books so that it doe not end.  However, after a little awhile, I do end up finishing the book because I start to crave the ending so that I can learn what happens and how it ends.

Another aspect that I love about finishing books is that I almost always seem to be able to take parts of the book away with me.  I usually find myself able to learn something from the book that I end up incorporating into how I think and sometimes it   has even altered the way I though of something or the opinion that I had on it.  I probably wouldn’t even be the same person that I currently am if I hadn’t read The Hunger Games and all the other books that I’ve read and enjoyed since then.  After reading, I also always find myself just staring up at the ceiling and just replaying the entire story over again in my head so that I can just live in the story for only a little longer.  Doing this also helps me really take in what I read and analyze the story and how I truly felt about it.  This is one of the joys of reading that comes with finishing a book that I really enjoyed. When I finish reading a story, it leaves me feeling just a little more complete than I did before I read it.

Leave a Reply

